There Are 16,777,216 Colors in an 8-bit RGB System

Aiden Barbour
2 min readJun 5, 2022

--

The videos live
And the static sound, enough to fill heads
At another distance, it’s just some video
But at this angle, RGBs are blocking out the sky
Born of a different light,
So good that it feels like a lie
But now this is the one I know
This is the one I own

The videos alive
Staring at the edges, while there’s blending at the seems
I’d thought my eyes had messed up, what constitutes the box
Stopped worrying about real things
And screens became mutable beings
Life forming inside
Life forming just beneath

All the good times
Taking me back again, and owning me
It’s a frightening place
The things I’m seeing
The lovely things, constantly on repeat
I don’t know where it leads
I don’t know where this leads

I feel this beam
I feel this inside me
Eyes looking back within to see
Dancing telecasts, sweetfaced ones who
Don’t know how to love
But are more accurate than they could ever be
An allure, so I’m stuck inside
An allure perfectly polluting me, and everything that surrounds
I’m simply stuck inside

The pieces of what I can’t recreate
Sliding away making this awful sound
Screeching the insides till I return
To the crunching crackling sound
In which the camera can create

The videos live
Projecting phantom beings
Empty faces, except for crooked smiles
Not of the earth, but that was where they were seen
My world’s inside of me
Watching things, one day at a time
My future never leaves
A constant sweet stomach ache
All the good in vain
All the good
In vain

--

--

Aiden Barbour

Just an ordinary someone trying to muster the courage to share some words. It usually ends up being sentimentally troubled verbiage.